Twin Cities Medical Society

First a Physician Award
PDF Print E-mail

Sculpture-WebThe West Metro Medical Society established, in 2007, the "First a Physician" Award to recognize a member of the West Metro Medical Society who selflessly gives of his/her time and energy to improve the health of their patients, has made a positive impact on Organized Medicine and the medical community's ability to practice quality medicine, and/or has been instrumental in improving the lives of others in our community.

Through the dedicated and untiring service to the profession of medicine, the candidate has not been previously recognized either via award or leadership position. This unsung hero has made an outstanding contribution to community service; worked on public policy issues; played a signficant role in the goals and activities of the West Metro Medical Society; or other noteworthy (local) volunteer medical service.

Who Can Make A Nomination

Only members of the West Metro Medical Society are eligible to receive the First a Physician Award.

Who Will Select The Recipient

The West Metro Medical Society Board of Directors, or other physicians, may nominate candidates for the award. The Executive Committee shall annually review the slate of nominees and select the recipient of the award.

Noteworthy contributions in the following areas will be considered:

  • Effective leadership
  • Involvement in improving the public health; or
  • Policy and/or legislative advocacy resulting in a positive impact on the practice of medicine or a healthier community.


2008 Carl E. Burkland, M.D.
2007 Lee H. Beecher, M.D.

View the First a Physician brochure.

Download the nomination form here.

Last Updated on Sunday, 28 March 2010 00:26

Add comment

Security code